Lazy Sunday or the most productive day of the week

Don’t get me wrong.  I absolutely love to travel with A, but sometimes those Sundays just end up being a whirlwind of a day traveling back home to Bloomington.  A lot of fun to be had just to feel like one of our weekend days have been stolen from us.  No relaxing, no productivity.  Just travel.

This weekend (thankfully) is not one of those!  So it allows for so much to get done.  Laundry, dishes, meal prep, random baking trials.

I had the ingredients purchased last week to make a “Polenta Breakfast Pizza” from one of my favorite blogs, Carrots ‘N’ Cake.  (Seriously, you need to go check Tina Haupert out.  She has the cutest pug pup ever!)  Alas, I never got to making it during the week, so I made it this morning.  I’m hoping this will last for a majority of our breakfasts this week.  It looks and smells yummy!  I had an uh oh while baking, and a major boil-over in the oven.  Meh.  NBD.  I continued on with the morning’s task of today’s breakfast too; bacon and random scramble of eggs, sauteed onions and mushrooms, and Laughing Cow Swiss wedges.  Hit the spot along with my morning coffee.

While chowing down on breakfast, I took the opportunity to start thinking about the menu for the week and groceries.  I like to attempt to plan out for the full week ahead, and can most of the time get us through it.  I pin recipes like a fiend throughout the week, and most of the time have a decent idea already established for what I’d like to make.  TG for Pinterest!

Weekday Breakfasts: Polenta Breakfast Pizza

Weekday Lunches: Crock Pot Sugar Spiced Pork

Dinners

Sunday: Steaks & 3 Bean Salad

Monday: Chicken Stir-Fry

Tuesday: Left overs

Wednesday: Chipotle Chicken & Pumpkin Soup

Thursday: Left overs

Friday: Spicy Garlic Shrimp

List in hand, the grocery shop battle could commence.  Our list included all kinds of house stuff on it too, so we opted for Krogers.  Yet again, meh.  It’s a crazy mad house….like always.  So we can skip the frustrations that are had, and you can just know that when I said “I shopped at Kroger”, it was most likely a stress-induced nightmare.

We were going to go to the Butcher’s Block for our steaks, but whomp whomp, we forgot they were closed on Sundays.  Oops!  But guess what’s right next door to coddle us in our sadness.  STARBUCKS!  Salted Carmel Mocha for the man and a Skinny Dirty Chai for the girl, and we were well over the fact that we forgot about the Butcher’s Block being closed!

We unloaded the groceries and started what meal prep we could for the week.  Sugar Spiced Pork is smelling up the apartment all kinds of wonderful.  And the vinaigrette is working its magic on the beans for tonight’s dinner.

Since I believe fall is officially here, I also have been hankering for a pumpkin baked good.  So my bonus treat for the week is Oatmeal Pumpkin Bread.  Oh buddy, does it smell divine!  

We’re waiting for it to finish baking so A can take me downtown to the Oliver Winery Tasting Room.  We’re going for a day-drink and to sample a new wine cocktail that they’re serving over this weekend.  I don’t remember the exact details, but I think it had something to do with ginger.  I don’t know.  I’ll just have to remember to take a few snap shots of it so I can share with you.

Here’s to the final hours remaining of the weekend!  Before we know it, it’s time to start the grind all over again.

How do you spend your Sundays?  Do you prepare for the week or enjoy your last day of the weekend?

Do you find that meal planning and meal preparation is beneficial to your week running smoothly?

Leave a Reply

